Posted by: SOE | June 10, 2009

Playing Around

Once I like a game, I tend to play the heck out of it. When I really, really like a game, I have been known to start it over from the beginning right after playing it through the first time.

It’s like reading books. The books I keep on hand are ones that I will read again and again.

That said, while I have read quite a lot, there are few games that I’ve managed to finish. It seems as though there’s always something new coming out to tempt me. Or, I put the game aside for a while when real life intervenes and by the time I come back to it, I have no idea how to play it any longer. As the weather warms up, I’ll probably spend less time indoors with more involved games and instead play a bunch of little casual games.

A couple of Facebook games I’ve been dinking around with lately are entirely different from each other…and I like them both!

First is My Fairyland by Play and Connect Ltd. You “level up” a garden by growing various adorable little plants. After they flower, you can harvest them, which will in turn support The Nature Conservancy’s Adopt An Acre program.

Fairyland

What I like about it is that you don’t have to spam your friends to play this game in order to advance. If your friends happen to play, they’ll be able to water your garden for you. If your friends aren’t playing, once your garden hits a certain level, it’s open to all the other players on Facebook. I’ve had folks stop by my garden and leave me messages from Australia, Italy and England!

And besides, who doesn’t want to see what bird will evolve from their Carmena Aviflora?

The other game I’m playing on Facebook is Bejeweled Blitz by Popcap. It’s a one minute timed version of the ever-popular Bejeweled 2, putting you and your Facebook friends into a team. There’s a leaderboard to show you how your score fits in amongst your pals, a way to smack talk them and drawings for various prizes.

Bejeweled Blitz

Again, the nice thing is that you don’t have to spam everyone into playing with you. If they happen to play this app, they’ll show up in your team and on your leaderboard. Your “leveling up” is really just getting a higher score for yourself. Where it does make a difference is for the prize drawing, for which having a team would definitely help you towards a million points total in a week.

Unless you’re a much more dedicated gamer than I am (and that wouldn’t surprise me), where you can make that kind of point-age without anyone else’s help. In which case, I bow to your abilities!

Responses

  1. kool do i have 2 download


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

